Friday, September 19, 2008

"i've got a lovely bunch of coconuts...deedely dee"

I am sitting in the annex, super procrastinating writing papers...which is bad, because I've pretty much done that all week. I have three five page papers, and I've researched one. Practically ready to start writing. Almost. The problem is, they were supposed to be due the 30th, but because of the power outages in Houston, our prof suspended all deadlines until the end of the semester. The ultimate problem with that is that he said it was temporary, which means that I guess he could reassign them whenever. Yikes. Oh, and I've got a presentation tomorrow.

Well I think that was the sufficient push to get me to work...I'm (only a little) stressed.

Friday, September 12, 2008

"if you haven't evacuated yet and you're in galveston, FORGET ABOUT IT."

Well today has been a super busy day of hunkering down. A&M was closed (except for "essential personnel") today, which is only a little sad since I have neither class nor work on Fridays. I have been super not productive, instead watching Jim Cantore on the Weather Channel pretty much all day. I actually just stalked him online and found his (almost) life story. It was fascinating. I did make everyone watch "The Day After Tomorrow" and Tyson did say later that it made Ike seem less intense. Mission accomplished.

I am so very tired but I do not want to miss the 50 mph winds that will come in a few hours! Also, we managed to find D batteries this afternoon and I would really like the chance to use them. Is that bad? Probably. Well I am off to find some medicine because I am crazy congested.

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

"you're scared to know i'm always on your mind."

Last week’s small taste of the end of September weather was so wonderful. A high of 95 degrees is so much more pleasant than 102. Alas, real-beginning-of-September weather is back, and is continuing to bring hurricane threats with it.

I wish I could watch all the seasons of Alias, Veronica Mars, 24, and Arrested Development. But I have school. Blech. Christmas break = watching tv shows on dvd + cricut + me.

Tuesdays are super busy for me, even though nothing is really going on at work today. I work from 8:30-1:30, pick up kids and baby-sit from 2:45-4:30ish, and now I have Bible Study at 6 in legit College Station. Plus I think we’re going to Breakaway afterwards. I got an email today that last week they had to turn away hundreds of people from the 9pm Breakaway because they’re in Rudder. I think it’s pretty crazy that Reed is a “disaster site” or whatever it’s called.

Other than that, I really am just trying to stay caught up with school. Which I need to do a lot of tonight. Also, it’s Taco Tuesday but I don’t think I can go. :o(

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

"look into your heart and you'll find love love love love"

So just a few hours ago I was feeling incredibly overwhelmed. I knew grad school would be a challenge, but I had no idea that one of my classes would include website design. It's still add/drop so I thought about dropping it, but after talking and praying with Tyson and looking at the first unit, I think I'm going to stay in it. It will be a lot of work, but I think worth it in the end to have the skill. Plus Tyson knows someone who can help me, which makes me feel a lot better.

Work has been super busy. Lots of student workers and grad assistants coming in to do paperwork. It's crazy, but I am strangely having fun. Maybe not fun, but definitely not hating it at all.

Other than that, I'm just having fun with my new car and reading and crafting...oh yeah, I named my car Phelps Water Cube Kennedy! Because I got him in the middle of the Olympics and it rained a lot that day. :o)

Sunday, August 24, 2008

"but you have to follow through."

Hello hello hello! I am a little sad right now because I just watched the closing ceremony of the Olympics and I do not really know what to do with myself. For the past two weeks I have had some form of Olympics (towards the end I got pretty desperate, even watching table tennis...) while I do things. Like crafting. This weekend I made a super cute welcome sign that my mom wishes me to replicate for her. Hopefully I do not disappoint.

Classes officially start tomorrow and it's a little weird for me. I have two online classes and a class that meets once every three weeks on Saturdays from 9am-6pm. I'm a little nervous. But I got an email tonight that online courses won't be available until 11pm so I can not feel guilty for neglecting to start studying and getting ready for class.

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

"the best thing about him is his calm demeanor."

I am a little obsessed with the Olympics. I remember sitting in my room with my friend Ally when I was 7 years old watching figure skating and crying because we were so sad Oksana got the gold over Nancy Kerrigan. But anyways, the faithgirlzzz are avid watchers this Olympic season. Our favorite event is making fun of the horrible commentators--who says "little boy on pommel horse?"

In other news, cricut and I are becoming besties again. It is amazing and he has helped me make some great cards to which the recipients say "yay!" to.

Sleep is something that has steadily decreased. No bueno. I blame...daylight savings time. Or my inability to be disciplined.

Joanna and I are going to start a new tv channel and Michael Phelps will be on all the time but not lameness like on the Olympic coverage. We will also have not lame commercials.

That is all. Tyson returns to College Station and I am very excited!!

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

"all i care about is you and your baby...and maybe the cymbals."

Long time, no blog! Haha that was lame. But really, I've been a bit neglectful of it. So sad. I want to go to the movie theater and view a film. With yummy movie popcorn.

We are still celebrating Lauren's birthday that was Friday. It started last Thursday and I [think] concluded tonight. Maybe. Currently we are watching a pathetic dating show on Bravo with a girl from the Real Housewives of Orange County. We laugh because it all takes place at her ex-fiance's house. Weeeeird.

The summer show to watch for our crew has been The Secret Life of the American Teenager, aka the Pregnancy Show. It's great for the bad acting, insane plot twists [that we see coming a week in advance], and shadiness. Alas, I love it.

This summer has gone by so fast! It's weird that it's almost time for classes to start back up again. I'm a little nervous about grad school, but super excited. Well it is definitely time for bed...zzzzzzzzz